Tuesday, March 07, 2006

The Square Club

In 1910, British authors John Mansfield, Walter de la Mare, John Galsworthy, Ford Maddox Ford, and Ezra Pound regularly attended a monthly dinner meeting to discuss new books. The gathering, formally named the Square Club, has been founded by G. K. Chesterton. [Letters of Ford Maddox Ford, Princeton University Press, 1965]

No comments: